The Vidhan Sabha or the 'Legislative Assembly 'is the lower house (in states with bicameral or two-tier legislature) or the sole house (in states with unicameral or one-tier legislature) of the State Legislature.

Election Commission of India

Members of a Vidhan Sabha are direct representatives of the people of the particular State as they are directly elected by an electorate consisting of all citizens of the age of 18 years and above of that State. Each Vidhan Sabha is formed for a five-year term after which all seats are up for election.